Four Lights

15 Jan

If you’ve been following us for awhile, you are no stranger to my seemingly limitless complaints and ramblings about internet.  Whether we are paying for it but it’s not connected, it’s connected but not working, it’s connected and working but cancelled by our host dad, the wind is blowing and it’s not staying connected, the post master says we need a new contract… seriously you guys, the options are endless if you ever want to grind my internet gears.

Someone shared this updated Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs with me, and it’s terrible how true it feels:

 

Long story short, I love me some internet. And it’s not just so I can catch up on Parks and Recreation or Google the calculated distance from Hobbiton to Gondor (though I’ve done that, too); I now rely on the internet so much to keep me connected with family and friends and Peace Corps volunteers and staff – and much of my work relies on having access to internet, too, be it working through grant proposals or language materials or training dates.

I’m so afraid of jinxing it (yes, that’s a legitimate fear), but I cannot express how glad I am to see the four little dots always lit.  They’ve been doing so well this past month and a half!  Seriously, I’ve been trained Pavlovian style to jump up and down all giddy whenever these little guys are all present and solid:

lights!

 

There are so many things I’ve learned to live without that I’d never imagined I could toss aside before and I know that with time, probably lots of wine and some counseling, I could be just fine without it, but I’m so glad and grateful to have the luxury of internet at our home.  I mean, how else would I be able to constantly bug you all with ramblings and updates into our crazy life?  Thanks for always following along – you make my life perfect in so many beautiful and altering ways!

I no doubt deserved my enemies, but I don’t believe I deserved my friends.   – Walt Whitman

 

3 Responses to “Four Lights”

  1. timswhateverworld January 15, 2014 at 12:06 pm #

    Then I guess you should be “hanging” out with your father more, eh?

Leave a Reply

