A Saturday

11 Jan

I wish I could say this was a special occasion, but this is me. Every morning.   Every. Morning.  I love a lot of things, but mornings… just not one of them.

Each morning before I go to work I promise myself the minute I get home I can climb right back into bed. Sure, that’s a little… fatalist, maybe? Insanely pessimistic? But I’m such a champion sleeper, and oh so lazy. And even though my bed in AZ is far from the most luxurious princess pad, it is heaven.

This morning was no exception. We had a meeting at 9AM and while I was totally pumped to get things DONE, I still could not wait to jump back into my fluffy cocoon.

Today we got together with the director of the village school and the head director for schools in our region. As we move forward in this big crazy plan to build a school, we are slowly starting to piece together what we need, when in the timeline it needs to be completed, just how the heck we are supposed to get it… that sort of thing.  During our meeting, we secured support and received letters stating the local government’s commitment to this project and a few other key things many donor’s may be looking for at the early stages. It was a huge step forward.

When I got home, I needed to conquer a teacher training project I have been putting of for weeks. It’s a stellar project, but one of those that isn’t so much difficult but just terribly time consuming – you know the kind I’m talking about.  It was like pulling TEETH.

Around 4pm, I had finished a large chunk of what I wanted to get accomplished. The cool thing about having your mess hall/recreational room/dormitory in one tiny space is that the big beautiful bed is never too far out of arm’s reach.  It had been a strangely productive Saturday and I hadn’t forgotten my early promise of diving back under the covers.

But, thankfully, I was on a total kick.  I pumped out the rest of the training manual, caught up on some emails, finished reading a teaching journal I’ve been lolly-gagging around with for months, cleaned said living room/bedroom/dining room, made some dinner and continued researching project ideas.

I’m really glad for busy Saturdays. Sure, mornings are rotten, but the great thing about them is they quickly turn into beautiful days. Which I love.

As for me, I know nothing else but miracles,
Whether I walk the streets of Manhattan,
Or dart my sight over the roofs of houses toward the sky,
Or wade with naked feet along the beach just in the edge of the water,
Or stand under the trees in the woods,
Or talk by day with any one I love,
Or sleep in bed at night with any one I love,
Or watch honey bees busy around the hive of a summer forenoon…
Or the wonderfulness of the sundown,
Or of stars shining so quiet and bright,
Or the exquisite delicate thin curve of the new moon in spring…
What stranger miracles are there?   – Walt Whitman
Leave a Reply

