I know a little German

6 Apr

Since we didn’t arrive here in Baku until late Saturday after nearly 24 hours of travel, I assumed I’d just conk out and enjoy the free Wi-Fi in the morning, get some breakfast,  and update then.  I think there’s this saying about assuming… something about asses and being stupid and thinking you can sleep in a hotel in a new time zone and just stop thinking?  Yeah, that’s what it is.

Needless to say, sleep is being a cruel devil and I’ve been awake most of this morning/night. I think just because of travel and new experiences and plans for tomorrow, I’m just running like crazy in my head.  I’ve mentally conquered, fallen fearfully, conquered, championed, struggled, then ignored just about every situation I could imagine about our time here in Azerbaijan. I think I’m mostly just nervous about being separated from the old partner during PST. I knew it was a possibility, but then it sounded like it wouldn’t happen, but now, of course, I’m fearing the worst and just obsessing over it.

HOWEVER. Mental anxieties due to exhaustion and minor stress aside, travel here was much better than I could have hoped.  We flew out of Dulles around 6pm, popped into Frankfurt around 9am their time, left for Baku around 2pm, then landed here around 8pm Baku time.  Lots of time zones and losing hours and such, but I was really impressed at how calm it all seemed to go.

Here’s a fun fact: I know, like, seven words and phrases in German.  My dad took a semester in college, so obviously he is fluent and impressed us much growing up with his hold on the language.  The range extended to cheers-ing people with prost, random numbers, and responding to Sprechen sie duetsch? with nicht sehr gut. 

And I actually used it!  Going through security, the lady asked me if I spoke German, in German, which I understood! I almost geeked out beyond logical understanding when I could respond with “not so well.” She the proceeded to speak a shit ton of German, which I just smiled and said in English, “okay, not that well at all.” She laughed, seemed friendly, and then snapped and proceeded to pull me aside and drill me terrifyingly about what the weird shape was in my carry on.  I had put in a fellow trainee’s binoculars, which she actually then told me looked like a bomb.  So, that was awkward, but we all survived.

just for you, Mom!

In Frankfurt, we grabbed some SUPER expensive deli sandwiches and mostly waited quietly to board. Everyone seemed just so worn out, which honestly was kind of pleasant. I’ve really, really enjoyed getting to know everyone, but when you are tired friendly chatter seems the last thing to come easily.

When we landed in Baku, it took quite some time to get all the luggage and move out.  Eventually, everyone found all our red-yarned bags and we were quickly greeted by current volunteers, staff, and dinner bags with giant Snickers bars which I inhaled.  We jammed into two buses, drove 40 mins to our hotel, and here we are now.

Tomorrow seems a shorter orientation day and I’m excited to see what it brings.  I think I will adamantly refuse to panic anymore, so if I feel it building up I will be LIVID. Only good things from here on out!

Henceforth I ask not good-fortune – I myself am good fortune;
Henceforth I whimper no more, postpone no more, need nothing, 
Strong and content, I travel the open road. 
 

– Walt Whitman (obviously)

One Response to “I know a little German”

  1. ruth krueger (@tromtt) April 6, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

    love love love!!!

Leave a Reply

