Assurances

4 Apr

Here’s a tip: if you ever find yourself staying in a city that is home to any sort of major sporting team, make sure you don’t go ANYWHERE near said home stadium/arena/field/velodrome/rink/etc. right around the same time the event is letting out.

Both nights here in D.C. we have found ourselves sardined between thousands of Nats fans stumbling their way out of the game.  Tonight’s adventure post-orientation was presumably going to be nice and low-key.  A few of us decided just to walk to a restaurant nearby vs. wait around for a shuttle – but, of course, with our timing, we faced an absurdly long wait for a table, surrounded by cheerful but boisterous attendees.  ( Just FYI the Nats pulled a 1 to 6 win over the Marlins. I don’t know this because I like baseball; Google is cool.) Instead, we ended up heading over to the Metro and riding into Chinatown.

Though it was probably the last thing I felt up for, it was definitely the best thing we could have done.  We chatted more with some great fellow trainees, had stellar Chinese food (at the same place we went to last time in D.C. – we felt like resident experts), got to see a bit more of town again, and overall had a great time during our last night in the U.S. of A.

So, thank you Washington Nationals fans for being so abundant and hungry.

Today was long but helpful.  Though it was much of the same safety and information stuff we have read for awhile, it felt nice to be surrounded by fellow future volunteers.  I liked being able to speak on the same sort of level and discuss anxieties and all that jazz, without having to answer the stock questions we’ve faced from people for so long. (Where are you going? Is that a real place? Is it safe? Why are you doing this? Will you hike in Iran? Will you speak Spanish? (This was a real question I heard, sadly, more than once.))

Matthew and I are the only couple leaving in our group.  I am not much worried about it, though it would have been nice to ask some questions about expectations and so forth, but I felt a bit awkward doing so.  I am just beyond grateful for him, but don’t tell him that. He might turn into this:

Tonight, we are repacking our bags, which is a terrible idea.  I don’t know how we got all our shit in the bags in the first place and now it is in piles around the room, but so it goes.  We started out with these beautiful, OCD driven lists with all our belongings itemized and labeled and yesterday before we left we just shoved random things left and right.  It is nice to actually know which bag holds what for our big flight tomorrow, but I think I might have needed a bit more plum wine at dinner to make this enjoyable.

Other than that, we plan on sleeping in tomorrow, I think.  Perhaps taking a nice long walk and getting breakfast and then off to the airport.

It has been somewhat of an emotional roller coaster of late.  As one who has no emotions, it has become quite a shock to feeeeeeel so much lately! It has been nice to go into full nerd mode and turn to Whitman.  It’s long, but sometimes getting lost in a long, encompassing poem is exactly what you need. Or, just maybe what I need. Maybe you need a baseball game. Or a bubble bath. Or to bake some cookies. Or a hug.  Or gin.  Whatever it is – sometimes getting lost is awesome.

 

Assurances
I NEED no assurances–I am a man who is preoccupied, of his own Soul;
I do not doubt that from under the feet, and beside the hands and
face I am cognizant of, are now looking faces I am not
cognizant of–calm and actual faces;
I do not doubt but the majesty and beauty of the world are latent in
any iota of the world;
I do not doubt I am limitless, and that the universes are limitless–
in vain I try to think how limitless;
I do not doubt that the orbs, and the systems of orbs, play their
swift sports through the air on purpose–and that I shall one
day be eligible to do as much as they, and more than they;
I do not doubt that temporary affairs keep on and on, millions of
years;
I do not doubt interiors have their interiors, and exteriors have
their exteriors–and that the eye-sight has another eye-sight,
and the hearing another hearing, and the voice another voice;
I do not doubt that the passionately-wept deaths of young men are
provided for–and that the deaths of young women, and the
deaths of little children, are provided for;
(Did you think Life was so well provided for–and Death, the purport
of all Life, is not well provided for?)
I do not doubt that wrecks at sea, no matter what the horrors of
them–no matter whose wife, child, husband, father, lover, has
gone down, are provided for, to the minutest points; 10
I do not doubt that whatever can possibly happen, any where, at any
time, is provided for, in the inherences of things;
I do not think Life provides for all, and for Time and Space–but I
believe Heavenly Death provides for all.

Walt Whitman

 

One Response to “Assurances”

  1. ruth krueger (@tromtt) April 5, 2013 at 7:14 am #

    Love you so much. I am very proud of you.

Leave a Reply

