T-16 Days

18 Mar

Today marks – officially,  in my book – the first day that I may or may not be sliding into a wild panic about leaving.

I doubt others would peg me as such, but I consider myself a fairly easy going person. (Unless you are pokey.  If you are being slow and making me late for something… disowned!)

Oh, but today.  Today I have troubled myself non-stop over these assignments from the Peace Corps.  They are really just a few short lesson planning worksheets and small essays.  For the life of me, I CANNOT DO THEM.  So far today, I have met with a fellow Wisconsinite leaving for Azerbaijan (how cool is that?), watched half of the The Incredibles, started putting some laundry in the washing machine then realized I’d have to take some clothes out of the dryer and didn’t feel up to that so abandoned that ship, ate a bunch of Cheetos… I think you get the picture.  It’s been a great, lazy day.

And in the back of my mind, I keep thinking about those lessons, and packing, and that I should be preparing myself more for leaving and that we only have SIXTEEN DAYS before we leave Wisconsin.

Since our last post, we have been busy doing many small but necessary steps to prepare.  To mention a few PC updates:

  • We have flight numbers! And times!  We will be leaving out of the Wausau airport then to Chicago and landing in DC late on April 3rd.  After that, it’s orientation all day the 4th, then leaving ’round noon on the 5th for Azerbaijan – with a teeny layover in Frankfurt.
  • We are nearly finished packing up the remainder of our belongings and popping them into storage.
  • ALMOST finished deciding which clothes and items to bring along and am pretty confident they will all fit into our bags (jackpot!)
  • Only a few days of work remain.  I will miss my students at McDill, though I am ready to be finished subbing (probably for eternity, if we can guarantee that!)
  • Only cried several times at our amazing bon voyage party this past weekend.  We can’t thank everyone enough for making it such a perfect night!

Amidst all that (and so much more), however, I still haven’t finished those worksheets.  And I’m clearly not doing those now, since I have decided to do a new post instead and watch Top Secret with my mom (obviously far more necessary.)

But you know what?  I don’t feel as anxious as before, sitting here with family and just committing myself to one thing at a time.  They aren’t due for a few more days (okay, two more days…), but isn’t that the point of a deadline?  And with only 16 days left to the deadline in the US, sometimes you just gotta enjoy Dairy Queen (for, like, the 100th time this month) and watch Val Kilmer as a handsome young devil deliver horrid, beautiful puns.

So much better.

I have heard what the talkers were talking, the talk of the beginning and the end;
But I do not talk of the beginning or the end.    
 
There was never any more inception than there is now,             
Nor any more youth or age than there is now; 
And will never be any more perfection than there is now,         
Nor any more heaven or hell than there is now.              
 
Urge, and urge, and urge;            
Always the procreant urge of the world.
 
– Walt Whitman
Leave a Reply

