One Step

7 Jan

I have been purposely ignoring my blog these past few weeks.  Usually when I post, I spend a fair amount of time planning and rewording and getting my thoughts into a somewhat ordered chaos.  But last time I posted, I just blurted and wrote so many feelings.

Which, some people do all the time, and it is a beautiful thing. But I almost feel wrong, like I said all these personal things and I want to take them back, and I don’t want to face them. 

You are all so kind and supportive.  I never mean to sound desperate or attention-seeking or anything of that nature.  And while I could go on and try and to scoop up the pieces, I just want to say thanks.  Seriously – thank you.

Okay, enough of that.

 

 

RECENTLY! Matthew and I have been scrambling to make sense of packing lists and purchases and appointments.  We received our medical files – and have had nothing but giant migraines ever since.

While we have health insurance, so many of the tests are not covered (of course).  We contacted our regular clinic and they estimated our bill to ring up to nearly $2,000.  WOOF.  Just to draw a few drops of B+ and confirm we have neither Yellow Fever, anemia, the mumps, nor any other intolerables to pass amongst our fellow man.

We never joined the Peace Corps to roll around in the lap of financial luxury.  And we are always accepting of the funds we need to contribute and the hoops we need to jump through. But seriously?  Our insurance company even told us that they could cover up to 90% of the costs, but it all just depends on how the clinic codes our services.  And when we asked the hospital to make sure they could code it the right way, the told us “Well, it all depends on how the doctor is feeling that day. We won’t know until you get here.”

UUUUUUUUGGGGHHHH.

My dear partner is a saint.  I have dug up so many statistics and laws about universal health care and rambled about so many things that NEED to happen in this country.  But I’ll spare you. Though, really.  It’s ridiculous.

We were also told we could schedule our appointments through a VA Hospital.  I was so hesitant at first; I feel like I am abusing something that isn’t for me.  Though after lenghty discussions with family and friends (and the damn clinic in Rapids to no avail) it made sense.  And even after all of that – we haven’t found a VA hospital that is willing to work with PC volunteers in the state of Wisconsin.   We are waiting to hear back from one last place… let’s just all cross our fingers.  We have 30 days to get this junk figured out.

Aaaalso, we went to Appleton this past weekend and found some really nice luggage, and the Eddie Bauer was going out of business, so fancy, warm, and cheap sweaters for us!  It feels better just to have some of the packing settled and can begin to see what 50 lbs in a check in bag really looks like.

Tomorrow, we are set to go to the dentist (oooooooh!) to get new x-rays and all that jazz.  Such an electrifying January we are leading!

 

A short update, but an update none-the-less.

Until next time – here’s what one W. W. might add:

 

The press of my foot to the earth springs a hundred affections,
They scorn the best I can do to relate them.
 
I am enamour’d of growing out-doors,
Of men that live among cattle or taste of the ocean or woods,
Of the builders and steerers of ships and the wielders of axes and mauls, and the drivers of horses,
I can eat and sleep with them week in and week out.
 
What is commonest, cheapest, nearest, easiest, is Me,
Me going in for my chances, spending for vast returns,
Adorning myself to bestow myself on the first that will take me,
Not asking the sky to come down to my good will,
Scattering it freely forever.
 
– Walt Whitman
 

 

 

Leave a Reply

