Explanations: Day 19

19 Nov

I never previously felt as if I’ve needed a disclaimer for this blog, but maybe I do need some sort of introduction; I recently began intensely exploring this blogging world and have stumbled across some pretty fantastic stuff.

In comparison, then, I’ve turned to mine and thought – what the what?

I have been really trying to keep up with NaBloPoMo, and I feel a little bit saddened when I don’t make a post for that day.  But only a little bit.  This may be a sad sign of my obstinate nature.

So – and I think this was a prompt earlier this month which I ruefully neglected – here’s a brief explanation into the goings on in Something Much More Ordinary by one O. Nelson.

(Note: I did it in bullet points, since I thought I would change it up a bit.)

(Also, some people have noted I ramble in my paragraphs, so I tried hard to make it short and sweet – may have failed, but this one is for you.)

(Additionally, I am aware that this is not the most earth-shattering post, but see point three.)

Four Something Much More Ordinary Monday Fun Facts

  • I work on this blog with the desire to share our experiences in first applying to the Peace Corps and, eventually, as a way to record and express our life overseas for two years as Peace Corps volunteers.
    • Side point: as we are draaaaaagging along, and I just really, really enjoy writing, this blog sometimes veers from the “main objective.” So if somehow you came here with the direct purpose to hear pc news, sorry to let you down.  Skip this for awhile!
  • I go through an absurdly long process figuring out what to post.  I just think, does anyone really care?  Who really wants to know what I’m rambling about anyway?  I always feel like I should put a little message in front of each post like, ” Real sorry if you found this boring!  Don’t feel pressured to read it!  Sorry if it is rotten!”  That probably says something about my inner-confidence or my lack of conviction in self-expresion, but such is my life.  I blame it on my Catholic-guilt raised father who passed always-feeling-bad-about-something along to me.
  • I hereby decree I will never start a post, “Sorry we haven’t posted in awhile” or “I have just been too busy to keep up” because… I don’t know.  I just don’t think it is necessary to make that sort of apology.  In my high school math classroom, on the wall was a poster that said, “No excuses, just results.”  And, as cliche a mantra it can be, it’s true and I like it.  It does me little good to rant about all the reasons I didn’t.
  • The title of my blog, Something Much More Ordinary is part of a lengthy quote from a great novel, and used in this instance means…frankly, I just liked the way it sounded.  I’ve thought of several equally awful little tags to go under it, like “Making the extraordinary moments ordinary” and other atrocious references, but it is sort of the way I wanted it to go. Here was my train of thought:

When I am traveling or on vacation or just spending the day somewhere new, I am wholly astounded and obsessed with trying to absorb each and every detail. I have never understood people who say, “Well, we had such a great time on vacation, but are really looking forward to just being home.” Say whaaa?  I never want to be home.  That’s not a jab at my home life or job or anything, but if I could spend every single moment exploring, I would do so in a heartbeat.  I don’t want those moments of amazement to be rare and uncommon… I want them to be a part of my every day life. (You know, I want them to be something much more ordinary.  Zing!)

So, there you have it.  Thanks for reading, amigos.  I have absolutely loved all the new activity and followers and comments – I cannot tell you how irrationally pleased it makes me.

And, as is tradition with any PC-related post, enjoy the following:

From this hour I ordain myself loos’d of limits and imaginary lines,
Going where I list, my own master total and absolute,
Listening to others, considering well what they say,
Pausing, searching, receiving, contemplating,
Gently, but with undeniable will, divesting myself f the holds that would hold me.
I inhale great draughts of space,
The east and the west are mine, and the north and the south are mine.
 
– Walt Whitman
5 Responses to “Explanations: Day 19”

  1. Anonymous November 19, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    Someone who writes as lovely as you should never apologize. I so enjoy reading your blog and could give two rat patooties whether it’s about the Peace Corp or some rambling about something completely random. XOXO

  2. Auntie Joanie November 19, 2012 at 7:13 pm #

    I can’t tell you how much I enjoy reading your blog. I don’t give a rat’s patoot if it’s about the Peace Corp or rambling about some random topic. You have a gift and I am glad you choose to share it. xoxo

    • livjnelson November 19, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

      you make me tear up. THANK YOU for your far too kind words. can’t tell you how much i appreciate it! : )

  3. Tim Krueger November 20, 2012 at 12:05 am #

    What?

    “I blame it on my Catholic-guilt raised father who passed always-feeling-bad-about-something along to me.”

    Great, now I have one more thing to feel bad about. Thanks a lot!!. : )

Leave a Reply

