Gallery

(No) News is Good News…

22 Oct

… but I must preface by saying there is finally news!

Everything I read and hear from Peace Corps says there tends to be a great span of time between application and invitation with little contact. So, having not heard any news (whether positive or negative) since early August (almost TWO MONTHS) was normal.

But like I’ve mentioned – probably one too many times –  I’m impatient.  I made these dorky little goals to try and keep me focused and in pursuit and growing.  And sure, they are pretty helpful.  But even while they keep my days busy and positive, in the back of my mind I still call b.s. on myself and know that what I am truly looking forward to has not yet come; while I’d never call any day in any ones life an unimportant day (thanks, Mr. Woollcott), there is just so much I am looking forward to it is hard to keep myself grounded.

On Friday, so that I didn’t explode with excitement and fidgetiness, I sent along a quick little note to the Peace Corps medical office with a quick little question to make sure we were still on track.  Our recruiter whom we met in Chicago and have been in contact with since the beginning is no longer our go-to gal as she has been moved to a different position, so Matthew and I just wanted to make sure we hadn’t been lost in any sort of shuffle or pushed aside.

Within an hour, I got a note back saying, in summary, just wait.  As we are nominated to leave in April, and Peace Corps tries to keep formal invites within a four month range, they are focusing on those leaving in January and late December before they move along to us.  In a nutshell, we were told not to worry, we would find out more soon, we haven’t missed any deadlines, so forth and so on and just wait and smile and do good things.
HOWEVER!  The VERY next day (coincidence? eeeehh, I don’t know, I think my neediness paid off!)  my Peace Corps Medical Applicant Portal received an update. (!!)  I’ll spare you the lengthy jargon and give you the super cool bullet points:

  • We have reviewed the medical information you provided and have issued you a medical pre-clearance. (SAY WHAAA!)
  • A medical pre-clearance means that, based on the information you have provided so far, you are preliminarily medically cleared for Peace Corps service.
  • Your application will now be reviewed by our Placement Office. 
  •  If the Placement Office issues you a formal invitation to serve, and you accept that invitation, the Office of Medical Services will contact you again with instructions on obtaining your final medical clearance.

It also said we should expect our invitation (assuming we pass the Placement Office) no later than December.  (It didn’t say when in December; I’m going to hope for the best, and get a bit sassy if after December 1st I haven’t heard a thing.  Solid plan? I think so.)

I think, to emphasis my elated pleasure, I would need a paragraph full of solid exclamation marks, but that doesn’t make for good reading nor clever writing,

It just seems too much to see in writing  “issues you a formal invitation to serve,” in any context, even if it is still preliminary.  We have just been pushing this back and pushing this back and now it is becoming a reality.  I have been flying on those words for the past several days.

While I guess this concludes that “no news is good news” or something equally as tried and true like “good things come to those who wait,” I think what it really is trying to teach us here is that “better things come to those who get a little fiesty and demand news.”

This reminds me of one of my favorite pastimes, eating Chinese food.  (I think my new goal is to express my PC experience through the eating of pseudo-Chinese cuisine.  Seems to be a positive and tasty trend.)

Though I still mourn the loss of Quick Wok, I have tried to fill the void with one of my neeeeew favorite places to gorge on msgs, China Palace.  My partner and I went out for dinner the other night (first time since leaving Eau Claire – too long!) and inside my fortune cookie I found this:

NOTHING.  There was no fortune in my cookie.  According to those most savvy with such issues (Google, obviously) “no fortune in my cookie” could mean many things, from not needing luck to not having a soul to having a glitchy cookie-making machine.
I like to think this fits along with the style of my life in these very recent moments. Because really, how perfect is that?

I do not put my fate in the hands of a cookie, thank you very much.

As my lover would agree,

Henceforth I ask not good-fortune, I myself am good-fortune,
Henceforth I whimper no more, postpone no more, need nothing,
Done with indoor complaints, libraries, querulous criticisms, 
Strong and content I travel the open road. 
 – Walt Whitman
 

(To conclude: who needs cookies when you have poetry?)

2 Responses to “(No) News is Good News…”

  1. Amy Neumann October 23, 2012 at 6:28 am #

    Love reading these! Congrats on the next step! Love to all!

  2. timswhateverworld October 23, 2012 at 8:17 am #

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

