Gallery

Adventures in Yard Saling

27 Aug

When we began packing up and pricing and carting nearly all our personal belongings out the front door into the garage to sell, I must admit I was terribly anxious and more than a little heavyhearted.

Now, as I sit in my echo-y living room on our air mattress, a few boxes and random items sprawled about in the otherwise empty house, I have only one regret:  we didn’t have this sale sooner.

I am delirious with freedom.

Yes, its unfortunate we sold the couch.  Coming home to relax isn’t quite what it used to be; we hang out on our camping chairs, feet up on the boxes of winter clothes.

Yes, I am still getting over sending off our big, beautiful bookshelf – but more for the memory of our trip to the cities to purchase it and the fun we had dragging it to our borrowed mini-van and setting it up in our first home together the week after we moved in.

And, I have discovered the lengths of my vanity, for every time I head out the front door I keep turning over my left shoulder to check myself out in my big gold mirror that used to hang in our entry way.

Nostalgic yearnings aside, our yard sale was fabulous.   Of course, in this drought of a summer, we woke up to rain on yard sale Friday.   I was panicked.  We had SO MUCH STUFF.  It would not all fit in the garage, nor even under all the tarps and awnings my parents planned on bringing up.  Fortunately, after several deep breaths, pats on the back from Matthew, and a trip to the gas station for some strong coffee, the drops stopped dripping and the puddles dried up and were replaced by piles and piles of shit.

Really, I think, that is what it comes down to:  we had a lot of shit.

At first, it was hard to watch things go, especially to nasty old-man hagglers and feisty barterers.  But after awhile, I felt very much like this:

Just sort of passe about the whole affair.

 If you haven’t seen this gem of a film… well, I don’t suggest you waste your time.  It was okay, but mostly just depressing. In “Everything Must Go,” Will Ferrell, a struggling alcoholic, loses his job and car, only to come home on the same day to find out his wife has left him, changed the locks, cancelled his credit cards and cell phone, and thrown all his personal belongings out on the lawn.  While at first he struggles to cling to each and every item he holds so dear, Will Ferrell’s character eventually – with the help of a cute chubby adolescent sidekick – realizes he needs to let the items go so that he can move on in life to bigger and better things and take the right steps to get on a strong track.

While fortunately our situation wasn’t quite so dramatic and lamentable, I found myself relating to many of the film’s bigger concepts.  In the beginning, when a customer haggled over an item, I felt so angry – how dare you suggest I take a dollar for that toaster! – but as the afternoon wore on… it was just a toaster.  In a sea of other toaster-like shit on tables.  Next to more shit on the yard.  That really, at the end of the day, must go.

Everything, really, must go.

And we must, too.

As this last week in our beautiful home in our town passes us by, I know we have to go.  This understanding doesn’t mean saying good bye won’t be hard.  I feel more at home here among my friends and loved ones than I honestly ever felt back in my hometown.  There are too many people I adore and get choked up thinking of giving hugs and adioses.  Yet more than anything I just feel so extraordinarily blessed.  These people were in my life and will continue to be, whether I am down the street or halfway across the world.  That’s what Skype, pen pals, and Facebook is for – hooray the 21st century.

Of course it won’t be the same. Nothing gold can stay, my friend, but I am so much lighter and freer now.  I don’t want to sit around in my living room watching movies – I am free of all that junk.  I can go anywhere and do anything because the world is far bigger than the four walls of my living room and the stuff that fills it.

Sure, some of it was really cool.  But nobody needs 300 dvds, 20 black picture frames, or three different cookie sheets.  When I am old and grey, I doubt I will reminisce on that time I bought that really lovely change jar or those pink tank tops and white china plates. But I will think of all the friends I have made and the beautiful faces I have met, all because I was able to move about the world and smile and talk and write to those that make this such a wonderful life.

And while our living room is empty, it has never felt more warm and full and comforting than at this moment, with Matthew filling it with laughter and imitations of the stupid yet hilarious movie we saw tonight with three great friends on this great Sunday evening.

As Walt would agree,

Whoever you are, come forth! or man or woman come forth!
You must not stay sleeping and dallying there in the house, though you built it, or though it has been built for you.
Out of the dark confinement! out from behind the screen!
It is useless to protest, I know all and expose it. //
 
Camerado, I give you my hand!
I give you my love more precious than money,
I give you myself before preaching or law;
Will you give me yourself? will you come travel with me?
Shall we stick by each other as long as we live?
2 Responses to “Adventures in Yard Saling”

  1. Bitsy August 27, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    You are an inspiration, Livvy.

Leave a Reply

