Gallery

Moving – Forward/Out of Town/Onward/Upward/In All Directions

6 Aug

I have to admit, team, I am becoming quite the nostalgic punk.

I realized over this past month since our last update that while, as of yet, nothing momentous has occurred, everything has completely changed in radically beautiful but ulcer-inducing ways.  On the 4th of July, sitting with my closest friends in a gorgeous park in my favorite town in the world, I though about what we should do for the next 4th of July, and I realized that, holy hell, I won’t even be in the United States (most likely – again, we are still in the process, people!)  You would have thought this would have clicked in my noggin earlier, as we have been preparing to leave since we applied, but it was this strangely surreal moment.  I just became so attached and aware, it seemed so strange to not have a lifetime of evenings in the park.

Since then, every time I do anything anywhere I get all sappy.

“This is my last August 1st in Eau Claire!”

“This may be my last Music in the Park Thursday!”

“How many more times can I enjoy Quick Wok before we leave?”

I am nearly burdened by trying to suck in all the details of the things I love and milk it for all its worth, while also keeping myself light enough and eager enough to push forward to the things of which I have been dreaming. It’s been a strange balancing act, and I’m still working on it all, but it’s getting there.

 

Recently, we made a major decision which I am still digesting, but am finally fully on board with: we are moving.  We are leaving our beloved little home on Ripley Avenue beginning of September and heading to our hometown for the next four months.

Ideally, we had planned to remain in Eau Claire until January 1st, staying at our current jobs then spending January through the end of March visiting family and getting ready to leave for wherever the road may take us.  There were, however, just too many things pulling us.  Matthew, while always grateful and pleased to have a job, has hit a roadblock.  He can’t really continue in his current position, and instead of stepping down into a smaller job in his office (in which, let’s be frank, he is not the most fulfilled and pleased) he will be moving on to bigger and better things.  I also received a job in the school district in my hometown, which will be perfect for the four months we need it.

Moving back to our hometown will also let us spend time with our families, which will be awesome.  While we get to see them quite frequently, it will be great to have a few months where many of our family members and friends are right down the road.

 

ADDITIONALLY, we are having a

MEGA-GIGANTIC, HUGE,

EVERYTHING-MUST-GO rummage sale

on August 24th and 25th.  Seriously, everything.  All our furniture, books, lots of clothes, our kitchen supplies, office supplies, dvds… everything.  We decided that if we wait until March, how the heck are we going to sell things? Who has a rummage sale in the middle of winter?  How will we manage to control our stuff? It will give us lots of time to minimize our belongings and work on a small scale for a few months.

Going through things has been both easier and harder than I imagined it to be.  At select moments, I find it wholly liberating.  There are so many things I own that I have neither touched, used, nor needed in months.  There are also things – mostly books – to which I attach way too much personal attention.  They have become not just books, but things I have poured myself into and taken such pleasure from.  I have to constantly remind myself that, truly, they are just things.  As my grandma once told me, “You can’t take a U-Haul to heaven.”  I know that what we have in store will be much better than a bookshelf full of stories I haven’t gazed over in years.  I also realized I should never price items, because I am definitely slapping higher priced neon stickers on to books I enjoyed, and selling those I shrug my shoulders over way cheaper.  So what.  I can be bias if I want to!
Here’s what cracks me up about all these changes: We are constantly told by Peace Corps, “DO NOT QUIT YOUR JOBS.  DO NOT LEAVE YOUR HOMES.  DO NOT SELL YOUR BELONGINGS!”

Whoops.

But – and this is major – you must know that we will explore and travel and move whether or not we are finally accepted to serve.  I think I am just filled with this insatiable desire to live and be and learn that even if we don’t leave for the Peace Corps, we are going to move somewhere new.   We already have in store some crazy plans during January and February that are still in the works, but we will discuss soon.  There are so many things we have to do!

Lastly, during this lengthy post, we DO have some Peace Corps status updates!  We received a medical history email last Wednesday.  We completed a lengthy questionnaire regarding all aspects of our physical and mental health.  Once it has been reviewed, we will have our medical physicals and – hopefully relatively soon afterwards – learn more about our destination. Hot dog!

 

At any rate, that’s a bit of the scoop for now.  As I write this, we are nestled into a stunning cabin in Montana with family, a gorgeous stream right outside my window and towering mountains in the distance.  I am so stinking lucky to have this time with everyone!  I should probably join in, instead of writing away, but so it goes.

Until the next time, here is some stellar Whitman I enjoyed while gazing at the mountains.  Superbly fitting.

 


The atmosphere is not a perfume, it has no taste of the distillation, it is odorless,
It is for my mouth forever, I am in love with it,
I will go to the bank by the wood and become undisguised and naked,
I am mad for it to be in contact with me.  //
The place of shine and shade on the trees as the supple boughs wag,
The delight alone or in the rush of the streets or along the fields and hill-sides,
The feeling of health, the full-noon trill, the song of me rising from bed and meeting the sun.

 

2 Responses to “Moving – Forward/Out of Town/Onward/Upward/In All Directions”

  1. Melissa Dawn August 6, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    Love it Liv! you two are brave.
    True adventurers 😉

    • livjnelson August 7, 2012 at 7:33 am #

      aw, thanks, missy! : ) i’m not sure if we are brave or stupid, but we are excited.

Leave a Reply

