Day One

31 Mar

I am a bit of a procrastinator.  College buddies could tell you many a tale of running to the printing lab mere minutes before class to not only print the essay, but to also finish that last paragraph, update the bibliography, fix my header, footer, and maybe sometimes write the whole damn thing.  Let me be frank: I am an absolutely wonderful bullshitter.  I can whip out essays like they are going out of style.

I usually shy away from those obnoxious quotes that are hit-you-in-the-face inspiring, (“Dance like no one’s watching!” )  but for some reason I liked this ol’ ditty the first time I came across it:  “Be careful of your habits, because they can become your personality.”  Or something like that.  I am a bit too lazy to actually look up the real facts. So, procrastination slowly (ha!) became not just something for essays, projects, and laundry, but wormed its way into all aspects of my life, like getting out of bed, responding to text messages, and opening mail… to name just a few pathetic sloth-ly events. Knowing this in mind, I truly have been working on it.  I don’t want my personality to be chunky.  I don’t want to be that girl who is always rushing but never in the way that shows determination, just trying to keep her head on straight.

Why am I saying all this?  Because today, FINALLY, m and I submitted our Peace Corps application.  We are not just talk, we are in the process here, people!  This is it! I have these lovely dreams of documenting all that happens during our time spent in another country… witty blogs, great photos, daring adventures recorded… and I realized I absolutely need to start NOW, fool! So, unlike the dishes that are still sitting in my sink, I am not waiting months from now to record my emotions and thoughts and the like.  I am saying now: I am excited.  I am nervous, and anxious, but at this point, excited.  There is so much left to discover and understand regarding this process and where it will take us, but I cannot wait.  And I plan to note it all down.  On time.  Because I am confident and efficient, dammit.

2 Responses to “Day One”

  1. Emily May 4, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

    I absolutely love this and am so excited to hear about your amazing journey. I love you two so much!

    • livjnelson May 4, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

      emily, thank you so much! you are wonderful.

Leave a Reply

